## **RESOLUTION OPPOSING AB 1385 AND AB 1397**

Whereas, the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACCJC), is the regional accreditor of community and junior colleges offering primarily the associate degree in California, Hawai'i, the U.S. Territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, and

Whereas, the elected members of the Commission, representing administrators, faculty, and the interests of the public, considered the impact of AB 1385 and AB 1397 on the accreditation policies and practices and found the proposed two bills:

- Require California state involvement in and regulation of a regional accreditor, which impinges the ability of any regional accreditor to uphold its autonomy and independence as required by federal regulations;
- Contain provisions that are in conflict with federal regulations, and contain provisions which do not take into account the regular and ongoing revision or reinterpretation of federal regulations by the United States Department of Education with which all regional accreditors must comply;
- Treat member institutions of a regional accreditor unevenly and therefore unfairly, based upon 0 their location (in California or outside California) and public or private status;
- Put in jeopardy the ability of a regional accreditor of California Community Colleges to achieve • and maintain federal recognition, in order for its member institutions to qualify for federal student aid and other federal education funding.

Therefore, it is hereby resolved that the members of the Commission of the ACCJC oppose AB 1385 and AB 1397, and ask that these bills not be enacted into law by the California State Legislature.

Enacted this 5<sup>th</sup> day of June 2015:

Stough M. Kingella

Steven Kinsella/Chair

well Almado

Sherril Amador/Executive Committee

(hua)

Chris Constantin

nous

Virginia May

Mary A.Y. Okada

Jan G. Wall

Ian G. Walton

Susan Kazama/Vice Chair

Joseph J. Bielanski, Jr.

Sharon Loucks

Charles Meng

Frank Gornick/Executive Committee

Tim Brown

Richard Mahon

John Morton

Eleanor D. Sieber

John Zimmerman

Raúl Rodríguez