

ACCREDITING COMMISSION FOR COMMUNITY AND JUNIOR COLLEGES

WESTERN ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES

Date: June 5, 2019

To: All Interested Parties

From: Karolyn Hanna, Karolyn Hanna,

Commissioner and Nominating Committee Chair

Subject: Commissioner Elections, Appointments, and Farewells

The following comments will explain the ways in which the recently elected and appointed Commissioners are identified in this report.

The Commission recently approved changes to the ACCJC Bylaws to modify and clarify how persons become Commissioners.

Commissioners are considered under two categories: appointed and elected.

- The majority of Commissioners are **elected** by the ACCJC membership. When positions become open as current members complete their final terms of service, these positions are announced to the region and interested parties are invited to submit applications. The Nominating Committee considers the applications received and prepares a slate of candidates that is in accord with various criteria. This slate also includes members whose first term is concluding and who wish to be re-elected for a second three-year term.
- The remaining five Commissioners are **appointed** by these related organizations:
 - o the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
 - the Pacific Postsecondary Education Council (PPEC) representing Pacific Island institutions
 - the Community Colleges of the University of Hawai'i as appointed by the UH System
 - o the WASC Accrediting Commission for Schools (ACS)
 - o the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

These appointments typically become open when a Commissioner is no longer eligible to serve; appointees are vetted by the Nominating Committee and their service begins at the time of the Committee's endorsement.

In addition, the Bylaws also provide for a person to be placed on the ballot as an **at-large** candidate by obtaining ten endorsing signatures from current CEOs. Previously, the Bylaws required at-large candidates to contend with other candidates on the slate, resulting in either/or choices among qualified candidates for the same position category. The recent Bylaws revision now provides for at-large candidates to be additions to the slate and, if elected by a majority vote, to become additional Commissioners and thereby expand the Commission size.

The **election** cycle concluding on May 22, 2019, produced the following outcomes:

- Kathleen F. Burke, Administrative Member, South Orange County Community College District
- Michael Claire, Administrative Member, San Mateo Community College District
- Willard Lewallen, Administrative Member, Hartnell College, *Incumbent*
- Ned Doffoney, Public Member, Incumbent
- Lori Gaskin, Public Member, Incumbent
- Roberts T. Jones, Public Member, Incumbent

These newly elected/re-elected Commissioners' terms begin July 1, 2019. Following an orientation for the new members, they will participate in the Commission Development Workshop (CDW) in October and subsequent Commission and committee responsibilities.

In addition, the following Commissioners have been **appointed** recently by their related entities:

- **Daisy Gonzales**, California Community College Chancellor's Office, effective March 2019
- Erika Lacro, Community Colleges of the University of Hawai'i System, effective upon the conclusion of service (and retirement) of John Morton, July 1, 2019
- Matthew Russo, WASC Accrediting Commission for Schools, effective October 2018

Farewell

At its June 2019 session, the Commission will be bidding a grateful farewell for two Commissioners who are concluding their terms of service:

- **John Morton,** Administrative Member and representative from the Community Colleges of the University of Hawai'i System
- Raúl Rodríguez, Administrative Member and former Commission Chair

KH/cms